A to Z Campus Map Directory
Athens State Logo
Current Students Faculty & Staff Tuition & Payments News Events Giving Human Resources Bookstore
Untitled Document

Calendar of Events

Current News Stories

Archived News Stories

Directory Search

Current News

Honorary Society Honors Chapter Achievement

May 2, 2013

ATHENS, Ala. - The Ballroom of the Sandridge Student Center at Athens State University was the setting for the Spring Initiation Ceremony of the University's Alpha Iota Chapter of Delta Mu Delta on April 28, 2013.

The academic society inducted 72 new and two honorary members into the nationally chartered organization. The chapter faculty advisers are Professors Kim Bell and Kim Roberts.

“We are extremely proud of these students who rank among the top 20 percent of their junior and senior classes,” states Professor Kim Robert. “We know they will continue to accomplish great things for the University, their workplace, and the community.”

This year, Delta Mu Delta awarded awards in the following categories: The Excellence in Teaching Award to Dr. Thomas Pieplow, The Medallion Award to Alex Coronado, and the Outstanding Service Award to Crystal Payne. Scholarship awards included: The Robert L. and Mildred S. McCall Scholarship to Christopher Nelson, and the William C. Sharples Scholarship to Aurora Quiroz. Honorary members inducted included Dr. Jim Kerner and Professor Kim Roberts.

As a special part of the program, a Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to College of Business retiring Dean Dr. Linda Shonesy.

In her remarks, Chapter Adviser Kim Bell stated, “Dr. Shonesy has served the Alpha Iota chapter of Delta Mu Delta over the course of her entire career at Athens State. She has helped to mold and shape this chapter into what it is today and has tirelessly promoted the College of Business and the students within to be the best that they can possibly be.”

Celebrating its 100th anniversary, Delta Mu Delta was founded at New York University in 1913 to recognize and reward superior scholastic achievement of students with concentrations in Business Administration. The Athens State chapter was originally formed in 1970 with Professor Gene Ermert being its inaugural faculty adviser. The chapter has grown to be one of the largest and most active chapters within the national organization.


Untitled Document

300 N. Beaty Street, Athens, AL 35611
Phone: (256) 233-8100

Stay Connected My.Athens.edu Athens State Online facebook Linked In
Google + you tube
Non-Discrimination Policy | Right to Know | Map/Directions | Contact Us
Web Privacy Statement | Copyright © 2014 Athens State University